Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 Can't get relay to work only on localhost with xmail
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
nico
donor
donor


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 4:02 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Hi,

I am trying to set xmail to relay only for localhost, ie php scripts.
I have tried to put in the following line in the smtprelay.tab

Code:
"127.0.0.1" "255.255.254.0"


Restarted xmail server and tried to send a mail from my php script but no luck, the error log reads that there is no relay allowed for the mail() function in my script. Is there another setting that I might be looking over?
View user's profileSend private message
Joshua Meadows (DemoRic)
support
support


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 783
Location: S.E. Kansas

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 2:46 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Check your php.ini located in your windows folder see if you have the mail function setup enabled:
Code:

[mail function]
; For Win32 only.
SMTP = localhost
smtp_port = 25

; For Win32 only.
sendmail_from = admin@yoursitename.com


I also assume you ment to have the subnet as 255.255.254.0 instead of 255.255.255.0

See tutorial http://apache2triad.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=634 for some other suggestions.
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerICQ Number
nico
donor
donor


Joined: 08 Aug 2005
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Aug 19, 2005 9:29 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You are correct, I have used the subnet mask that was listed in my IP listings in the TCP/IP settings, so I am pretty confident that they are correct. I also made sure that the email address, port and host is on there in the php.ini. The only thing is, I have 2 IP's for this server. I want to bind only the one that has the reverse DNS lookup listed in my provider's DNS server obviously so that my mails won't be refused by some other mail servers. How can I bind the xmail server to one of the IP's only? would I replace the
Code:
SMTP = localhost with SMTP = mail.myserver.com or 14.15.16.22 (the IP I want to bind it to)


or would it not matter? Rolling Eyes

Thanks Smile


-----------------------------------------------------------------

EDITING-------------------------------------------------------

That was the problem Smile I used the IP bound to the mail server in the configuration file and all is well now! Thanks for expanding my view Smile
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic Reply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
All times are GMT