Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 MySQL Remotely from 2 Locations. No Go :(
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
Hymn
 
 


Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 3:19 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Well, just some background information.

I am running an online radio, and my broadcasting software requires me to use MySQL so it can categorize song names, and alot of other data.
In addition, SQL is the mainframe of my online request system, and currently playing song data.

I am using MySQL from Apache2Triad 1.5.3.

My broadcasting software (localhost) and my webhost (*****-fx.net) has to be able to access my SQL database.

For what ever reason, my computer (localhost) can access my SQL database, but my webhost can not.

My broadcasting software is out of the picture, and it is not a problem. Some reason, remote hosts can not access my SQL database.

Please help me / tell me how I can allow my Apache2Triad setup to allow external (remote) hosts, as well as internal (network) to access my SQL databases.

Thanks in advanced,
Hymn

PS. I have already tried removing the "bind-address" line in my.ini and it still wont work.
View user's profileSend private message
Twirp
 
 


Joined: 07 May 2005
Posts: 14
Location: Md

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 1:49 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

You have to make sure you allow that computer to connect to MySQL.
(I'll post how when I get time... Sorry...)
View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN Messenger
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 1539

PostPosted: Sun Feb 12, 2006 2:08 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

just read the FAQ damn Question #16 allready
View user's profileSend private message
Hymn
 
 


Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 7:15 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Vlad Alexa Mancini wrote:
just read the FAQ damn Question #16 allready


just so ya know pal, that didnt and doesnt help a bit.

i need futher help.

...and yes i have port forwarding on TOO.
View user's profileSend private message
dawg
support
support


Joined: 11 Apr 2004
Posts: 180

PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:13 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Did you try:

Quote:


Remove that line altogether and make mysql bind on all interfaces



as the FAQ reads??
View user's profileSend private message
Hymn
 
 


Joined: 12 Feb 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat Mar 11, 2006 9:35 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

yes, i have tried that too...

...been busy working on other things so i havent been able to get on here.

it'd still be nice if there was a SOLUTION to this.

-hymn
View user's profileSend private message
Joshua Meadows (DemoRic)
support
support


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 783
Location: S.E. Kansas

PostPosted: Sun Mar 12, 2006 12:01 am Reply with quoteBack to top

since your having such difficulty, is it possible for you to use an ssl tunnel?

I've used this for MySQL connections between pc's within a network using stunnel. It has the added benifet of having an ssl data channel.

it works along these lines (forgive the crude diagram)

LocalhostMySQLport -> stunnelservice -> SSL -> stunnelclient -> MySQLClient

http://www.stunnel.org/
http://www.google.com/search?q=mysql+stunnel
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerICQ Number
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic Reply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
All times are GMT