Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 MySQL Error Nr 2003 (10061)
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
nigelgale
 
 


Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2004 9:22 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Hi - nice work on packaging apache2triad.

I am running two machines, both running Windows XP-SP1, they also have Norton Internet Security 2004 running including firewall. Each machine has access to the other through the firewalls and can access shared folders OK.

I have successfully installed Apache2triad and all seems to be running OK on the "server", I can also used the triad CP and PhpMyAdmin on the database from the client machine.

I have changed the domain to match the hostname njgserver which is the network name for the server machine.

However as soon as I try to connect to the database on the server from the client machine using Macromedia Dreamweaver or MySQL Admin I get the following error:

MySQL error Nr 2003
Cant connect to MySQL server on njgserver (10061)

If I run these tools on the server and connect to localhost all works OK.

I have tried this with the firewall disabled on both machines but still get the same error.

I have scoured google and not found an answer to this which works and have now gone back to a clean Windows and Apache2Triad install.

Any assistance would be really helpful. (BTW this worked OK with MySQL, PHP and Apache installed seperately)

Thanks

Nigel
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 1539

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2004 12:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

see my.ini section [mysqld] variable bind-address
for security reasons it only binds on 127.0.0.1 with default configs
View user's profileSend private message
nigelgale
 
 


Joined: 16 Feb 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Feb 16, 2004 4:33 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I have solved the problem!

Just so others might have a similar problem - I set the bind-address to the hostname and can now connect from remote clients OK.

Nigel
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mail
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic Reply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
All times are GMT