Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 Do Apache support Win x64?
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
tetsukun
 
 


Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 3:59 am Reply with quoteBack to top

i just recently installed win x64, and there is many applications that are not running properly just corious about if apache is being supported for winx64..

thanks..

if the question was dumb sorry.... Embarassed
View user's profileSend private message
Joshua Meadows (DemoRic)
support
support


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 783
Location: S.E. Kansas

PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2005 1:29 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

There's no dumb questions if you're seeking to learn.
Anyways about Apache on Win64, I've seen people do it, but they had to compile apache on windows themselves. To date I haven't seen anyone make a distrobution of apache compiled to native 64 bit processing. However win 64 SHOULD still support 32 bit applications, so A2T ought to work fine. I can't say for 100% certainty as I have yet to make the jump to 64 bit process, but everything I've read supports this theory.
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerICQ Number
tetsukun
 
 


Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Fri Dec 30, 2005 2:26 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

well yes it does work....

well the only thing is that the account of apache2triad appear on the welcome screen not a big deal...
View user's profileSend private message
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 1539

PostPosted: Thu Mar 30, 2006 10:21 am Reply with quoteBack to top

apache2triad and all the software in it should work on 64 bit wndows versions , but if you are runing a 64 bit CPU some things might now work
View user's profileSend private message
simplesimon
 
 


Joined: 08 Jun 2009
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2009 11:18 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Can you tell me what things may not work? I am considering installing on windows server 2003 64 bit. I thought you needed to have a cpu that supported 64 applications, so don't understand the reply about it being ok when running on 64 bit windows unless you had a 64 bit cpu.

Thanks
View user's profileSend private message
Tastiger
 
 


Joined: 28 May 2006
Posts: 25

PostPosted: Sat Aug 01, 2009 8:45 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

In general - anything that is compiled correctly for 32 bit should run on a 64 bit platform.

I mucked around the other day and did a quick install of A2T on Windows 8 64 bit and things seemed to work fine - but with the php etc being outdated, it not something I would like to use in a production environment.

I also successfully installed XAMPP on Windows 8 X64 but then again I didn't think I will turn over my top end graphics machine to being a server Laughing

But it's nice to see what works and what doesn't......
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic Reply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
All times are GMT