Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 how to change localhost name
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
Erazo
 
 


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2004 4:47 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Hi,

I recently started to use Apache2Triad and I love it. One thing I would like to do is change the localhost name to a name I prefer. Example erazo-localweb instead of localhost. Can this be done?

I stopped the Apache2Triad Apache2 Service, opened httpd.conf file and changed the following:

ServerName localhost:80
to
ServerName erazo-localweb:80

Saved the file and restarted the Apache2Triad Apache2 Service

When I go to http://erazo-localweb/apache2triad/ web page, it gives me a page not found error.

However, when I go to http://localhost/apache2triad/ web page, all is fine and still reports the hostname as localhost instead of erazo-localweb.

Is there something I am missing? If anyone can provide any help, I would appreciate it since I am new to this.

Thanks,

Erazo
View user's profileSend private message
bvdugo
 
 


Joined: 13 Aug 2003
Posts: 16

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2004 8:52 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

localhost would have to change to something like

yoursite.com

or

yoursite.freehost.com

you can't change it to any word you want,
but you can change it to any domain you register
________
JUGALETTES


Last edited by bvdugo on Sat Feb 12, 2011 4:34 pm; edited 1 time in total
View user's profileSend private message
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 1539

PostPosted: Wed Mar 10, 2004 9:37 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

see the FAQ and the domain changing script
View user's profileSend private message
Erazo
 
 


Joined: 10 Mar 2004
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 3:51 am Reply with quoteBack to top

bvdugo: Thanks for the information but I strictly want to keep it locally on my machine. I am not ready to register a domain name just yet. So I guess the answer would be I can't change localhost name to anything I want on my local machine?

mancini: Which FAQ 's are you referring to? The Apache.org FAQ 's or your personal FAQ 's? The FAQ 's on my local server where I installed Apache2Triad? Where would I find this? Also, where would I find the domain changing script? Is this associated in the FAQ 's you are referring to?

Sorry to be so ignorant about this.
Again, thanks for your continued help.

Erazo
[/b]
View user's profileSend private message
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 1539

PostPosted: Thu Mar 11, 2004 9:13 am Reply with quoteBack to top

i was refering to the apache2triad FAQ of course
you can find it in a thread on this board or access it via the online FAQ link in apache2triad
View user's profileSend private message
kolatracks
past contributor
past contributor


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 313
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 12, 2004 4:41 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Erazo, you need to add an entry to your hosts file for that hostname.
Firstly read the FAQ , and as suggested you'll probably want to run the domain change script, but after that you need to edit your hosts file.
On XP it's at c:\windows\system32\drivers\etc\hosts (assuming c:\windows as root). Open that in notepad and make it look something like this:
Code:

127.0.0.1   localhost erazo-localweb

Again assuming 'erazo-localweb' is the hostname you want to use.
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic Reply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
All times are GMT