Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 Localhost vs 127.0.0.1
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
Dauthus
 
 


Joined: 05 Oct 2003
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2003 4:51 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Here's the problem. I have installed Apache2Triad.1.1.6 on a Windows XP system. Everything works fine for the most part. I have two problems.

1. I cannot connect to the server using http://localhost. I have to use http://127.0.0.1 Anyone know why?

2. The system automatically sets everything up to work for 127.0.0.1 except for phpmyadmin. This for some reason wants to link by using localhost. Is it OK to modify the
Code:
$cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = 'http://localhost/phpmyadmin/';
to
Code:
$cfg['PmaAbsoluteUri'] = 'http://127.0.0.1/phpmyadmin/';


If anyone could tell me why localhost doesn't work, or has run into this problem before, could you please guide me in the right direction? Thanks in advance
View user's profileSend private message
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 1539

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2003 5:10 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

127.0.0.1 is the ip and localhost is the hostname of the lopback interface

apache actually binds on interfaces , not ip or hostnames , hence if it is bound on 127.0.0.1 it will be accesible via localhost too

as for the hostname for the loopback interface it is "localhost" no "localhost."
View user's profileSend private message
kolatracks
past contributor
past contributor


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 313
Location: UK

PostPosted: Sun Oct 05, 2003 10:34 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

exactly what mancini said, but as an extra suggestion.
Have a look at your windows hosts file (in WINDIR\system32\drivers\etc). It should contain '127.0.0.1 localhost', if not that might be why you can't access localhost.

As for your second question, yes you can change it if you want.
In future change it and see what happens. If it works, keep it, if it doesn't, change it back.
It's not a bomb that blows up your computer if you set it wrong.
Just change one setting at a time and remmember what you changed it from, then eventually you'll learning something.

Anyways the main point is that your problems aren't to do with A2T, rather more likely to do with a lack of something in your win installation.
View user's profileSend private message
kleptik
 
 


Joined: 09 Oct 2003
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Oct 09, 2003 11:50 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

i have opposite problem i have everything set to localhost but phpmyadmin saying cannot connect to 127.0.0.1
View user's profileSend private message
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 1539

PostPosted: Fri Oct 10, 2003 3:53 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

kleptik your problem is that you probably messed the passwords for mysql .... it has noting to do with Dauthus's problem

this goes for your other posts too .. make sure you somplied with the red text on the password changing script and read the manuals
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic Reply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
All times are GMT