Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 Will not start Apache after enabling Tcl
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
sambrose
 
 


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Fri Mar 19, 2004 5:35 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I installed version 1.2

After reading the changelog.txt, I started the apache by using the apache monitor via the and starting apache w/o ssl. I then started Mysql via the start menu using Winmysql admin. I then went to the apache cp via the start menu. All of this on a win98 machine.

I did not see any interface for starting services such as python or tcl. When I clicked on the link for apache config from the cp, I was, at the top of the page, presented with a menu allowing me to start services by checking the box. I added all services except mod_perl (per the waring that was listed there)

When I stopped and tried to restart apache, it will not work now. I tried clicking the apache monitor from the start menu and get the apache monitor but when I try to start apache, nothing happens. I then tried starting apache by going to the bin folder and clicking the apache.exe but I get a dos window the comes up and then dissapears.

I hope I provided enough information. Any help would be appreciated. I followed the instruction for posting and hope this is not out of line.

Regards, Steve
View user's profileSend private message
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 1539

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2004 7:14 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Quote:
When I stopped and tried to restart apache, it will not work now. I tried clicking the apache monitor from the start menu and get the apache monitor but when I try to start apache, nothing happens. I then tried starting apache by going to the bin folder and clicking the apache.exe but I get a dos window the comes up and then dissapears


how exactly did you stop apache ?
the best way is to click the "stop Apache Server" link in the CP
then start it via the pache monitor

and if you want to start it manually dont just click the executable but instead open a dos shell and type apache.exe in it
this alows you to see the potentiall error messages

anyway dont worry , i use apache2triad on win98 most of the time too
View user's profileSend private message
sambrose
 
 


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2004 3:59 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Quote:
how exactly did you stop apache ?

I stopped apache by using the link in the CP.

This time, I started the apache.exe using the method you suggested (from a dos shell).

This is the error I am receiving:
Code:
C:\apache2\bin>apache.exe
Syntax error on line 1047 of C:/apache2/conf/httpd.conf:
Cannot load C:/apache2/modules/mod_tcl.so into server: One of the library files
needed to run this application cannot be found.

C:\apache2\bin>


I did a search of my hard drives for a copy of this file. search returned 0 files found.

Steve
View user's profileSend private message
FiSh-MoB
 
 


Joined: 21 Nov 2003
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2004 4:48 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

download the original apache2 from www.apache.org (i hope that's right) and take only the file mod_tcl.so and put this file in C:\apache2\modules\ than it has to work!
View user's profileSend private message
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 1539

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2004 8:20 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

FiSh-MoB :
i dont tolerate missleading advices on this forum
apache 2.0.49 does not contain mod_tcl.so

sambrose :
indeed mod_tcl.so does not come with apache2triad for now
it was there before but it was buggy and i am waiting for new mod_tcl version to me made before adding it again to apache2triad

so for now leave tcl unckecked in the httpd gui
View user's profileSend private message
sambrose
 
 


Joined: 19 Mar 2004
Posts: 3
Location: Texas

PostPosted: Sun Mar 21, 2004 10:52 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Thank you very much for the information mancini. Will do as you have instructed and I thank you for putting together a solid package and making it very simple for me to have a webserver on my windows machine. Your efforts are very much appreciated.

Regards, Steve
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic Reply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
All times are GMT