Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 i cant open " http://localhost/"
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
expotaha
 
 


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Location: who knows...

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 7:24 am Reply with quoteBack to top

hi every1,

i have just downloaded apache2triad! from the net, and set it up properly. I saw this apache version from my friend, he uses it and has no problem with winxp o/s.

So, i have also done with it, but when i typed local host it says "page condt find" i have read the documents realted with 2triad but i coulndt see any information about this problem...

p.s: i have no idea what the problem is, but i use 2005visual studio to creat websites with c#, and i use this apache to see my websites that i'll do "*.php"... so i hopw u understand my problem Sad becos my english is not enough i know....
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerMSN Messenger
Joshua Meadows (DemoRic)
support
support


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 783
Location: S.E. Kansas

PostPosted: Mon Apr 17, 2006 11:02 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Make certain Apache2Triad is running.
start -> run -> services.msc

Check your hosts file for localhost entry.
C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\hosts
entry will be
Quote:
127.0.0.1 localhost
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerICQ Number
expotaha
 
 


Joined: 17 Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Location: who knows...

PostPosted: Wed Apr 19, 2006 5:27 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

i have checked the services.msc, and there is no program such an apache2triad Sad

But installation was succesfully completed when i installed it... what should i do to solve this problem?

thx....
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerMSN Messenger
Camac
 
 


Joined: 30 Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Location: Australia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 5:09 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Try reinstalling sometimes there are errors that dont show up in the installation process of software.
make sure you have all of the needed privledges to install on your computer as well...
and you could also try starting it in the apache monitor
Regards
Cameron
View user's profileSend private messageMSN Messenger
Jibran
 
 


Joined: 14 May 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2006 7:00 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I am also facing the same problem. I checked everything but nothing seems to get me to connect to LocalHost! Apache isnt running as SSL on Windows XP SP2.

I use -
Firefox 1.5.0.3
IE 7 Beta 2 Preview
Windows XP Pro SP2


Only the Apache service doesnt seem to work! Please help! Embarassed

---------------

When I try to start Apache SSL service, it shows "The Requested Operation has Failed". Any ideas?
View user's profileSend private message
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 1539

PostPosted: Thu May 18, 2006 9:11 am Reply with quoteBack to top

FAQ # 25
View user's profileSend private message
Jibran
 
 


Joined: 14 May 2006
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 7:03 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Okay got everything working, except that Apache doesnt connect to localhost - I tried IE 7 , IE 6, Firefox and Opera to no avail. Does this work with SP1?
View user's profileSend private message
AhknubisX
 
 


Joined: 17 Sep 2005
Posts: 6
Location: Pennsylvania

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 9:04 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Make sure your local host is actually confirmed in your Apache config files, check your fire wall settings on XP and give Apache permission to communicate openly over a port. Check your Apache config files to ensure that the port you are using is set up as either 80 (laptops) or 8080 (desktops) if you Installed A2T XP Home.

Instructions:

    1.) Open the Windows Start Menu
    2.) GoTo the Control Panel Menu Option and click it.
    3.) GoTo and click the Security Center menu option
    4.) Scroll down to the bottom of the Security Window dialog until you see
    the "Manage security settings for:" field and click Windows Firewall
    link.
    5.) Click the "Exceptions" dialog tab of your Windows Firewall dialog
    window
    6.) Click the "Add Program" button and locate for the Apache exe., and
    continue through the process for adding the program.


*) Repeat the process for your SQL implementation and RDBMS and
other management software.

**) You might also take a chance and assign a port to Apache by
highlighting the Apache entry in the "Programs and Services:"
display field of the "Exceptions" tabbed dialog. If you do make sure
that it is 80 for a laptop, or 8080 for a desktop.

By default I believe Apache's config file/ini.'s are set to 8080, so if you are using a laptop you will have to change the Apache config file to port 80 and possibly adjust ini. file parameters.

Note:
Make sure that you check the boxes next to Apache and SQL appl.'s that you want to add to your active Exceptions for Programs and Services. The add button just adds th appl. to the list, it doesn't automatically activate the service, you have to check the box to the left of the name.



XPHome gives you ONE (1 ONLY) configurable communications port and limited at that. The remaining ports, if any, virtually assigned and managed by Windows without user-defined input, and unless your an extreme hacker you will deal with it or upgrade to XP Pro.

If you can , install A2T on another system like XP Pro, or Win2K Pro, then put your admin applications on your XP Home box and develop your system that way. The server being on a Pro versioned O.S. will then be able to access multiple hard-coded configurable ports, not just 80/8080 on XPHome, AND virtual switching-ports will also be configurable if you are into extreme networking and com protocols.

Just a tip:
Me personally, I have a second low end laptop that I will Install Windows 2000 Professional on and then Install Apache2Triad as a dual boot system along side a LAMP server from UBUNTU Linux. Do my dev on Win2K Pro and move over to production on the LAMP implementation to check for Unix compatibility issues. This will help in the long run enabling you to become familiar with both server os instances increasing your accessibility. You are creating a web-site to be viewed not return 404 error pages.
    View user's profileSend private message
    Jibran
     
     


    Joined: 14 May 2006
    Posts: 7

    PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 5:40 am Reply with quoteBack to top

    Thanks AhknubisX , my A2T is actually installed on Win XP Pro SP2. The Apache service is startin, so is MySQL etc. but localhost is not connecting. I changed the port from the default 80 to 8080 but still no use. I have disabled Windows Firewall and am using Sygate. Even if I disable both firewalls then also it doesnt connect to localhost. So probably the problem doesnt lie with the ports. It has something else to do with Win XP Pro. Does it recognise localhost even?

    Edit: I am able to ping localhost at 127.0.0.1 but get a page cannot be displayed error when I try to open it.

    My httpd.conf file is as follows: *removed

    My logs/error log file is as follows: *removed

    Can someone help me with this?
    View user's profileSend private message
    Joshua Meadows (DemoRic)
    support
    support


    Joined: 29 Dec 2004
    Posts: 783
    Location: S.E. Kansas

    PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 8:41 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

    My suggestion, have 2 listen statements.

    Listen *:80
    Listen *:8080

    That way localhost will resolve to port 80 like normal, but web traffic can be ran through port 8080.

    Also please note, if you're going to post your entire httpd.conf and error.log please do it as an attachement, or only quote the relevant areas.
    View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerICQ Number
    Jibran
     
     


    Joined: 14 May 2006
    Posts: 7

    PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 4:22 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

    Thank you for the suggestions Demoric, I will try them out and I apologise for the previous post. Next time around I'll keep this in mind. Thanks.

    Edit:
    I did as instructed but still no resolution of the problem. Now when I connect to http://localhost in IE at first the message in the status bar comes as: "Website found, waiting for reply" and after ages the page that I get is : "The Page cannot be displayed".

    Please assist me. I am too stumped. Okay added the necessary files as attachements.
    View user's profileSend private message
    Joshua Meadows (DemoRic)
    support
    support


    Joined: 29 Dec 2004
    Posts: 783
    Location: S.E. Kansas

    PostPosted: Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:52 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

    You've tried with firewalls disabled, your hosts file is correct, I don't see any problems with your httpd.conf. Route to localhost is loopback, and your apache2 service is running. I don't see anything that strikes me as wrong.

    Have you tried your machine's LAN IP?

    This is improbable to prevent localhost from running, but do you have event ID #4226 in your windows' event viewer? If so http://www.lvllord.de/ has a fix.
    View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerICQ Number
    hypercyber
     
     


    Joined: 14 Jul 2006
    Posts: 12
    Location: Tunisia

    PostPosted: Mon Jul 17, 2006 9:47 am Reply with quoteBack to top

    Hi man,
    It's just a bug .... Use 1.5.3 version, it will work perfectly with your pc
    View user's profileSend private message
    Jibran
     
     


    Joined: 14 May 2006
    Posts: 7

    PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:00 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

    Umm, cannot find 1.5.3 anywhere. Can you give a link to it?
    View user's profileSend private message
    hypercyber
     
     


    Joined: 14 Jul 2006
    Posts: 12
    Location: Tunisia

    PostPosted: Fri Jul 21, 2006 5:46 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

    Jibran wrote:
    Umm, cannot find 1.5.3 anywhere. Can you give a link to it?

    Apache2Triad releases : http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/apache2triad/
    View user's profileSend private message
    Display posts from previous:      
    Post new topic Reply to topic


     Jump to:   



    View next topic
    View previous topic
    You cannot post new topics in this forum
    You cannot reply to topics in this forum
    You cannot edit your posts in this forum
    You cannot delete your posts in this forum
    You cannot vote in polls in this forum
    You cannot attach files in this forum
    You cannot download files in this forum
    Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
    All times are GMT