Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 NEED HELP WITH SSL
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
parkerbball13
 
 


Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 10:01 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm new to having my own server and am having trouble getting the openSSL to work. I have got the SSL server to start. But when i type in https://parkerpics.com nothing comes up. Just the IE error "The page cannot be displayed". And of course the regular http://parkerpics.com still works but not the https://. Can anybody help me with this? Is there anything that i have to config?
View user's profileSend private message
Joshua Meadows (DemoRic)
support
support


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 783
Location: S.E. Kansas

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 10:08 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

did you stop the apache server, and start the one with https?
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerICQ Number
parkerbball13
 
 


Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 10:51 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Well I think i have. I went to my services just to make sure. And in that it say's it isn't started. So I tried and it say's it can't start. I pretty sure i stop the http service first before starting https
View user's profileSend private message
Joshua Meadows (DemoRic)
support
support


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 783
Location: S.E. Kansas

PostPosted: Fri May 12, 2006 11:07 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Be certain that apache2 services is stopped before starting apache2ssl.

You can do this from:

apache2triadcp
http://localhost/apache2triadcp

a2tmanager
click coresponding stop button

Windows Services Applet
start -> run -> services.msc

The command prompt
start -> run -> cmd.exe
net stop apache2
net start apache2ssl

NOTE: if you want this change to be perminent then you need to have the auto startup options changed. Again you can use the apache2triadcp, services.msc (or you can change the registry using regedit).
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerICQ Number
parkerbball13
 
 


Joined: 12 May 2006
Posts: 3

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 3:04 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Ok Great I got it to work, But It is saying something about the certificate. Do I need to config the certificate?
And Thanks for all your help Demoric
View user's profileSend private message
Joshua Meadows (DemoRic)
support
support


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 783
Location: S.E. Kansas

PostPosted: Sat May 13, 2006 1:04 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

The complaining is probably because it's accessing your hostname, but the certificate is for localhost.

There is a howto on creating a certificate
http://apache2triad.net/forums/viewtopic.php?t=40
(also it contains a small batch script that tries to simplify creation)
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerICQ Number
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic Reply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
All times are GMT