Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 Special Authentication Requirement
Google
Steve Nance

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 6:24 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm a newbie to the Apache2Triad package and this forum so please excuse the ignorance. I'm setting up a company Intranet server on a LAN. I have the package working but, need to solve a problem.

I need to authenticate users by getting their ID from the Windows registery and checking it against a list of approved users (file or db) for access to secured directories without the user having to log in.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 10:07 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

wich specfic part of apache2triad you want to let them accesss ?

sounds like youn need to find/make a php or perl script to check the authentification of the user
Steve Nance

PostPosted: Sat Apr 10, 2004 11:45 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I want to give them access to PHP scripts in specific directories similar to .htaccess but without having to log in.

I can't find a function in PHP to read the registry, where the authentication is stored and I 'm unfamilar with Perl.
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 1:11 am Reply with quoteBack to top

that is because there is no such function

you would have to use fopen() on System.dat but that would not get you too far with the registry

the authentification (password hash) is stored in the .htpasswd file not in the registry for the apache htacces files

i dont know about what ID you are taking about from the registry

if you assigned such ID then you should know how to retrieve it too
Steve Nance

PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 2:04 pm Reply with quoteBack to top