Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 Is there a guide for making your web site public?
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
Seraphim
 
 


Joined: 07 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 1:41 am Reply with quoteBack to top

I'm not really trying to host more than one domain or w/e. So a VHost is not needed to be discussed. I've read Question #5 from the F.A.Q. and it didn't make much sense.

All I'm saying is if there is a guide to set A2T to make my website public so other computers (not from my house) can access it.
View user's profileSend private message
lku homer
 
 


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 5:40 am Reply with quoteBack to top

There are a few threads designated to that topic I'm sure. But since you asked so nicely.

The first thing you want to do is check the FAQ again. Questions: 1, 2, 3, 5.

Then you want to make sure you do is setup your httpd.conf file correctly.
Code:

Listen 80 #Usually this, sometimes your ISP will block it.

#ServerAdmin admin@your-domain.com #Uncomment this, and fill in the appropriate information.

#ServerName your-domain.com:80 #Uncomment, and fill in the correct information


Then you need to set the host file correctly. You can find it, default setting, C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\etc. If you're not using Windows, which we don't know because you didn't tell us. In my case the default gateway is 192.168.1.1, so my host file would look like:
Code:

192.168.1.1 <TAB> localhost
192.168.1.1 <TAB> domainname

Obviously if you have a different gateway use the one that's there for localhost, and when there is a <TAB> don't put '<TAB>' hit the tab key.

Finally, you want to open up the router and/or firewall. And you need to open up the ports listed here. I am using a TCP protocol when opening the ports.
View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
Seraphim
 
 


Joined: 07 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:00 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I have a few questions, what if I don't have a domain name? What if I just want somebody to type in my IP in the address bar and show the necessary files. Also, I am using Windows SP2.

Other questions:

Can I use another port such as 8000?

EDIT:
Also if I use 192.168.1.1 wouldn't it just forward to my router's configuration page?
View user's profileSend private message
lku homer
 
 


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 6:06 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Yes, you can have people connect to your server from an IP address.

Yes you can change the port to 8000, in your http.conf change:
Code:

Listen 80
to
Listen  8000


Go to WhatsMyIpAddress and tell you're friends to use that external IP.

As far as the host file, I'm not sure whether or not you have to change it. But just in case, I would change it from, what I said, the domainname to the external IP.

Make sure your htdocs are set up correctly, and to make sure that the DocumentRoot in the http.conf is set correctly to where you want it.
View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
Seraphim
 
 


Joined: 07 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 9:03 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Lol, I have some more questions since I just did what you told me.

Ok,

1. How can I make sure that the site is up, that is, without having to ask my friends to check it?
2. Should I leave A2T if I want the server on?
3. How can I access localhost now? All I get when I type localhost in the address bar is that the page cannot be displayed.

Do you mind going over these things I did to httpd?

Listening thing:
Listen 8000

ServerAdmin:
ServerAdmin myfameinc@gmail.com

ServerName:
ServerName 68.199.174.239:8000

DocumentRoot:
DocumentRoot "C:/apache2triad/htdocs/myfame"
View user's profileSend private message
lku homer
 
 


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:18 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

1. How can I make sure that the site is up, that is, without having to ask my friends to check it?

There are a few moniter services that check and see if your web server is up, but I would recommend just asking your friends to do it.

2. Should I leave A2T if I want the server on?
What?

3. How can I access localhost now? All I get when I type localhost in the address bar is that the page cannot be displayed.

FAQ #25

And your configs seem to be OK.
View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
Seraphim
 
 


Joined: 07 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:55 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Lol, okay. Thanks for all the help!! Also the second question was this,

Should I leave Apache on to have my website public or can I shut it down and people can still access it.

Again, thanks for all the help.
View user's profileSend private message
redham
 
 


Joined: 07 Feb 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 07, 2007 11:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Quote:
Should I leave Apache on to have my website public or can I shut it down and people can still access it.


Yes you must have Apache running to access your site.

Apache is the server and it's necessary for browsers to be able to access your site.
View user's profileSend private message
Seraphim
 
 


Joined: 07 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 4:37 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

What should I do if I have a no-ip domain such as mycharm.servegame.com?

Would people have to put in mycharm.servegame.com:80?
View user's profileSend private message
lku homer
 
 


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 5:08 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

No, there are a few things that you need to do in order to use name based hosting.

First off I would go into the localhost/Apache2Traidcp and use the change domain script.

Then you can basically just follow what I did on my first post here.
View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
Seraphim
 
 


Joined: 07 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 5:15 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

How come the first I set the my server up I could only access it through Mozilla FireFox?
View user's profileSend private message
lku homer
 
 


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Sun Feb 11, 2007 5:23 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I have no idea.
View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
Seraphim
 
 


Joined: 07 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 11:59 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I can't access my site from other computers. It says, "Connection Timed Out."

LINK:
mycharm.servegame.com
View user's profileSend private message
lku homer
 
 


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Fri Feb 16, 2007 2:38 am Reply with quoteBack to top

That means that either your server is not open to the www, or the host records from the domain are not pointed to your external IP.
View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
Seraphim
 
 


Joined: 07 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:57 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Now, with just my IP I can't connect anywhere except from my house. Others computers from MY HOUSE can connect but different IPs can't connect.
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic Reply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
All times are GMT