Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 can't start apache http server on windows vista
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
gr8sale
 
 


Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Miami, FL

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 2:55 am Reply with quoteBack to top

My old laptop fried and I had to get a new one, my new one came with windows vista. Apache2triad installed with no problems. But now I cannot start the apache http server. Not with the apache2triad manager, not with apache monitor, not in the widows services panel, and all of the other apache2triad services seem to be operating normally. I really need to get this working so that I can use it for some web development I need to finish. I have looked around the web and can't find an answer to this issue, if anyone has a solution or suggestion I would greatly appreciate it. Crying or Very sad
thanks,
Stephanie
View user's profileSend private message
lku homer
 
 


Joined: 29 May 2006
Posts: 104

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:54 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Check the error log, if there is any errors post them here. Look in the 'C:\a2t\logs\error.txt'.
View user's profileSend private messageAIM AddressYahoo MessengerMSN MessengerICQ Number
gr8sale
 
 


Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Miami, FL

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 3:02 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

When trying to start the service from the a2t manager I get these messages:

From A2T:
Failed to set data for 'Start'

From Windows:
Apache HTTP Server stopped working and was closed. A problem caused the application to stop working correctly. Windows will notify you if a solution is available.

In the services panel:
Windows could not start the A2T service on the local computer. Error 1053: the service did not respond to the start or control request in a timely fashion.

Here is my error log:
[Tue Mar 13 23:03:24 2007] [notice] Apache/2.2.0 (Win32) PHP/5.1.2 configured -- resuming normal operations
[Tue Mar 13 23:03:24 2007] [notice] Server built: Dec 11 2005 20:34:33
[Tue Mar 13 23:03:24 2007] [notice] Parent: Created child process 2596
[Tue Mar 13 23:03:25 2007] [notice] Child 2596: Child process is running
[Tue Mar 13 23:03:25 2007] [notice] Child 2596: Acquired the start mutex.
[Tue Mar 13 23:03:25 2007] [notice] Child 2596: Starting 150 worker threads.
[Tue Mar 13 23:03:25 2007] [notice] Child 2596: Starting thread to listen on port 80.
[Tue Mar 13 23:07:48 2007] [notice] Parent: Received shutdown signal -- Shutting down the server.
[Tue Mar 13 23:07:48 2007] [notice] Child 2596: Exit event signaled. Child process is ending.
[Tue Mar 13 23:07:49 2007] [notice] Child 2596: Released the start mutex
[Tue Mar 13 23:07:50 2007] [notice] Child 2596: Waiting for 150 worker threads to exit.
[Tue Mar 13 23:07:50 2007] [notice] Child 2596: All worker threads have exited.
[Tue Mar 13 23:07:50 2007] [notice] Child 2596: Child process is exiting
[Tue Mar 13 23:07:50 2007] [notice] Parent: Child process exited successfully.

Any help is greatly appreciated Smile
Thanks in advance,
Stephanie
View user's profileSend private message
dale
 
 


Joined: 11 Jun 2006
Posts: 51
Location: las vegas, nv

PostPosted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 3:44 am Reply with quoteBack to top

Which version of windows vista do you have? I am researching the new world of windows vista to see what it can and can't do.
View user's profileSend private message
Vlad Alexa Mancini
lead developer
lead developer


Joined: 07 Jul 2003
Posts: 1539

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 1:10 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

looks like apache started normaly and was imiediately automatically shut down , am sorry but for now i have no access to a vista box or any vista testers
View user's profileSend private message
Lucifix
 
 


Joined: 16 Mar 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Fri Mar 16, 2007 11:31 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I haven't try yet but maybe this will help:
http://www.sitepoint.com/forums/showthread.php?t=409782

Quote:
I had the same problems with installing Apache on Vista.

First of all, I turned off User Account Control:

1. Start > Control Panel
2. User Accounts
3. Click "Turn User Accounts Control on or off" Link.
4. Uncheck "Use Uer Account Control" Box
5. Click OK
6. Restart Windows

I then downloaded the MSI Apache installer version from Apache.org, and saved it to my desktop. I then renamed the file to apache.msi

I then ran the installer through the command prompt running in Administrator mode:

1. Start > All Programs > Accessories
2. Right-Click "Command Prompt" and choose "Run as Administrator"
3. Change to your desktop folder (usually cd desktop)
4. Type the following: "msiexec /i apache.msi"
5. Run through the Apache installer as normal.

After Apache had been installed and I had restarted my machine, I wanted to get rid of the annoying red error box that appears. This is due to the "Monitor Apache Services" program trying to load at startup.

Delete it from the startup folder of the start menu (Start > All Programs > Startup)

You should then be able to start and stop Apache using the icons in the start menu under the Apache > Control Apache Server folder. Better still, why not make a shortcut to them on your desktop for easier access.


Edited: nope, I tried but it doesn't work...
View user's profileSend private message
gr8sale
 
 


Joined: 14 Mar 2007
Posts: 3
Location: Miami, FL

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2007 3:34 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

didn't work for me either
i just get an error message from windows Sad
thanks though Smile
Stephanie
View user's profileSend private message
Joshua Meadows (DemoRic)
support
support


Joined: 29 Dec 2004
Posts: 783
Location: S.E. Kansas

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2007 3:56 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Sorry I don't have VISTA to see if this works, but it's worth a shot.

1. Start > Control Panel
2. User Accounts
3. Click "Turn User Accounts Control on or off" Link.
4. Uncheck "Use Uer Account Control" Box
5. Click OK
6. Restart Windows

Please note: I've read that it may still give an error message on startup, but will actually start the service.

Also, I've read you may have to disable UAC first and then install apache.
View user's profileSend private messageYahoo MessengerICQ Number
DELETED
Guest





PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 10:03 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

DELETED
Dino
 
 


Joined: 28 Jul 2006
Posts: 2
Location: Iowa

PostPosted: Fri May 11, 2007 2:21 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I found this work around online. It works, Apache2Triad starts with windows, but, It does throw an error message at startup. Other than that, everything seems to work okay for me. I'm not sure that I would do this on a public server, but for testing on my laptop it's fine. Just as a side note: the problems I had installing A2T were at the cmd promt asking for the password, my keyboard was disabled and I was unable to type a password. 'Enter' allowed me to go on by. Then A2T wood not run as stated in the posts above.
View user's profileSend private message
TheGoldeagle
 
 


Joined: 07 May 2005
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2007 6:42 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Doing all of the above I still get errors that prevent me from running A2T

Quote:
(OS 10013)An attempt was made to access a socket in a way forbidden by its acces
s permissions. : make_sock: could not bind to address 0.0.0.0:80
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs


Any ideas on this?

I am runing Windows Vista Home Premium.

Medalink
View user's profileSend private message
DELETED
Guest





PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 6:27 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

DELETED
elpresidente
 
 


Joined: 03 Aug 2004
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Thu Aug 16, 2007 10:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

confirmed that setting the "log on" property to of the Apache2 service works.
View user's profileSend private message
DELETED
Guest





PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 6:48 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

DELETED
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic Reply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You can download files in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
All times are GMT