Apache2Triad Help, Support and Development Forum Index Search Profile Log in to check your private messages Log in Register Memberlist Attachments Statistics Crew/Ranks Archive
 Cannot start Apache2 service
Google
Post new topic Reply to topic
Author Message
esm
 
 


Joined: 21 Jun 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 3:14 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Hi,

I'm new to this forum and new to the Apache "world".

Yesterday I installed Apache2 on XP SP2 and it immediately showed up in the lower right corner and the blurb said that the service had started. However, when I started my PC this morning, no service was running and my attempts to start it failed. Can someone help me?

Thanks,

esm
View user's profileSend private message
cigraphics
 
 


Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 148
Location: Romania, Pitesti

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:05 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

did you made any changes in configuration httpd.conf ?
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailYahoo Messenger
esm
 
 


Joined: 21 Jun 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:24 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Yes, I did make all the changes to the httpd.conf file. I would like to add that I have also MySQL and PHP installed, if that's important in that context.
View user's profileSend private message
cigraphics
 
 


Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 148
Location: Romania, Pitesti

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 6:19 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

go to Start > Run > type cmd then type httpd -S

and type here the error

if you still have problems add this YmID: cigraphics_net
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailYahoo Messenger
esm
 
 


Joined: 21 Jun 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 6:37 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I typed httpd -S into the command window and this is what came back:

'httpd' is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
View user's profileSend private message
cigraphics
 
 


Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 148
Location: Romania, Pitesti

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:12 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

then type apache -S

the letter S must be upper case
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailYahoo Messenger
esm
 
 


Joined: 21 Jun 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 7:22 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Same result!
View user's profileSend private message
cigraphics
 
 


Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 148
Location: Romania, Pitesti

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 8:03 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

try httpd -k start or apache -k start

contact my on yahoo cigraphics_net
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailYahoo Messenger
esm
 
 


Joined: 21 Jun 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 8:11 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

Same result on both accounts!

When I try cigraphics_net in yahoo it leads me back to this forum.

Thanks for trying to help.

esm
View user's profileSend private message
cigraphics
 
 


Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 148
Location: Romania, Pitesti

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 9:00 am Reply with quoteBack to top

try to reinstal apache
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailYahoo Messenger
esm
 
 


Joined: 21 Jun 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 1:57 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I already did that twice, it always works directly after the install but never after the first reboot.
View user's profileSend private message
cigraphics
 
 


Joined: 21 Aug 2005
Posts: 148
Location: Romania, Pitesti

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 7:50 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

try this:

1. Reinstall apache
2. Make the configuration into the httpd.conf
3. Go to Start > Run > type cmd and press OK the type httpd -S and press Enter
4. If it says The Syntax is OK type httpd -k restart Enter
5. Else atach the configuration file here to help you
View user's profileSend private messageSend e-mailYahoo Messenger
esm
 
 


Joined: 21 Jun 2007
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 7:56 pm Reply with quoteBack to top

I did that and the httpd command is still not recognized as a command. However, I think I found the problem. I went into All Programs --> Apache2 --> Control Apache server, a window pops up informing me about a syntax error in the httpd.conf file. I fixed that and now it works even after rebooting.

Thanks for the help.

esm
View user's profileSend private message
Display posts from previous:      
Post new topic Reply to topic


 Jump to:   



View next topic
View previous topic
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group :: FI Theme
All times are GMT